Fishing


She always asks me to go fishing with her. It’s an inside joke, really. She knows that I’m more comfortable doing ‘girly’ things like shopping for prom dresses or spending time together while enjoying a pedicure. So when she asked before she graduated, I could always say ‘no’ without feeling too guilty; it was against the rules. Now, I’m left with only one excuse: I don’t know how to bait a hook.

I took my kids to dinner on Friday to celebrate the next chapter. Both are leaving for the basic training in a matter of a few months. Both threw their caps in the air at graduation. Both are moving forward.

After dinner, I promised that I’d watch a movie with them. We joked that with Saturday having the potential to be our last day on Earth, we should probably hang out with people that we loved. So the three of us decided we’d spend some time together.

On the way home, I stopped at Starbucks for a jolt of caffeine. I planned to make it a quick trip through the drive-thru. However, upon pulling into the parking lot, they mentioned that they’d never been to Starbucks, so I parked and we spent some time inside.

After ordering the essentials, we found a cozy corner to sit and talk. They giggled initially, claiming that the process was weird. They didn’t like the music (it was too sad and whiny) and they didn’t understand why anyone would hang out inside of a store overwhelmed by the scent of coffee. Five minutes in, however, both of my kids seemed calm and happy.

I looked at Siena, who was gazing outside at the storm passing over town. She had an easy smile on her face and was comfortable with the silence. After noticing that she’d grabbed my attention she quickly turned to me and said, “This is actually kind of peaceful.”

Me: “This is my fishing.”

Her: “I don’t get it.”

Me: “Do you remember all those times you asked me to go fishing and I told you I didn’t understand the allure?”

Her: “Yes.”

Me: “This place, in moments like these, is my fishing. I’m calm. It’s peaceful.”

Her (laughing): “And you’re not dirty, city girl.”

2 thoughts on “Fishing

  1. Pingback: Lansete » Blog Archive » Fishing « Future For Fina

Leave a Reply

