It’s Been Too Long…


I had a great weekend away from home. It’s not too often that I can get away, but when I can/do, it’s always well worth the wait. Hunter, Marissa, Justice, Topher, a few others (who haven’t been named), and I went to our old stomping grounds to relive college memories. I wish I remembered more from this weekend. But, alas, we did it like we used to: with drinks and naps taking center stage. I’m surprised we made it out without a trip to the ER, but we survived. Life is good.

It’s been too long since I’ve written. Last week at this time I was feeling a bit overwhelmed so I decided to erase one task from my ‘to-do’ list. Blogging was it. Today I realized that I needed my fingers dancing across keys or I was going to lose it. So here I am, without much planned for tomorrow’s classes, typing away.

Speaking of lessons, I’ll have plenty to dish about next weekend. Two of my children (seriously, if I could adopt them, they’d be living with me right now) are graduating Friday. It’s the first year that I’ll really pack tissue. I’ve joked about it every year, feeling proud of the kids that walk across the stage. I love them all so much. It’s always a good day. This year, however, two of them make me so proud that my eyes are flooded with tears just thinking about their successes. They’ve come from nothing. Now, they’re ready to do anything. I can’t wait to see what the next chapter brings them. I can only hope that they’ll continue to allow me to be a part of it. On top of this, I have some exciting news coming your way mid-week. I can’t brag until it’s official…but I’m pretty excited.

Justice told me that it’s okay to be proud of myself. I still struggle with that, even though I totally agree. In the past two years I’ve done amazing things to get back on my feet. I should celebrate my accomplishments. With that said, once my newest adventure becomes finalized, I’m going to do my best to make a party of it and realize that I deserve the celebration.

I couldn’t stop saying “You’re the grossest person in America” this weekend. I don’t know why I find that so funny. I have a sick sense of humor. Of course I don’t actually believe anyone that received this line to be the grossest person in America, but I think that’s why it’s so funny. Not many others giggled as much as I did when I was saying it. That’s fine, I guess. Is it that awful to laugh at your own jokes?

After all of the alcohol and food I consumed over the last few days, I think it’s safe to say that I’m going to need to hit the gym hard this week. Puke-worthy routines are in order.

I had a dream last night that Ed got Kacey pregnant. I’m not really sure why this happened. The week before, I had a dream that I was in a car with a guy friend when a levee broke. The water didn’t drown us. In fact, we rode it out like an amusement park ride. Then, the next night, I was with another guy friend on a train that couldn’t stop. Nobody was injured in the end. I guess I’m fearing losing control again. Maybe life is getting so good that I fear something is about to throw me off course again.

Topher says that he dodges bullets, only to be blindsided by freight trains. Perhaps he’s onto something. Perhaps that’s what I’m scared will happen.

Regardless, it’s been too long since my life has been this good. I need to celebrate while I can.

2 thoughts on “It’s Been Too Long…

  1. The waiting-on-other-shoe-to-drop syndrome? Oh, not fun at all. I know quite a few people like that. Always so worried about what bad thing is coming next. Seems a bit too stressful to me, but, eh, what do I know? I’m crazy enough not to care where the damn shoe is 🙂

    And best of the luck to you on whatever this mysterious project is.

  2. Happy Mother’s Day Fina, you truly are a mom to your kids. So very glad to hear the pendulum is swinging your way, cheers!

    Love the post.

Leave a Reply

