54. Debris


Debris and litter suffocate the street. Wearing heels, she moves through the clutter knowing untainted paths and bigger things are around the bend.

Barriers unseen, the journey is about to be a bit less congested. And, if there is a detour, she knows to avoid fear and inhale the sights and sounds of the scenery surrounding the journey.

Her dignity will remain. Blind faith abandoned. Hope has its place. But so does logic.

What looked like failure was actually survival. What sounded like despair was actually growing strength. The war resulted in serenity. Her disaster was stunning.

Staring at the remnants, she realized that she loves every piece of the trash. The ugliness, the garbage, and the damage all created a masterpiece. Her treasure. Endless beauty.

She doesn’t throw any of it away and that’s what is so striking. She knows it belongs where it was left. No reason to disregard it. The turmoil, the pain, and the tears made her.

11 thoughts on “54. Debris

  1. “Her disaster was stunning…she realized that she loves every piece of the trash…The turmoil, the pain, and the tears made her.”

    wow. you were right. this is my new favorite.

    and it’s so right on. *cheers out loud for her*


    xo

  2. “What looked like failure was actually survival. What sounded like despair was actually growing strength.”

    Beautiful. Absolutely Beautiful.

  3. Dear Sarafina,

    I was left speechless by your wonderful post. I am very honored to have inspired such beauty.
    So many lines resonate with me.
    this is one of my favorites:

    “And, if there is a detour, she knows to avoid fear and inhale the sights and sounds of the scenery surrounding the journey…”

    Since it is an amazing journey you are on and we are all privileged to follow it….and I am honored in some small way to have been a part of it….

    and this also moved me…

    “Staring at the remnants, she realized that she loves every piece of the trash. The ugliness, the garbage, and the damage all created a masterpiece. Her treasure. Endless beauty.”

    ahh…such wonderful beautiful words…

    Thanks for the wonderful inspiration…you provided me for my poem “Lost in Fearful Days,” Sarafina.

    I couldn’t have done it without you and your moving blog that amazes me more with each poignant post.

    You are amazing. Don’t ever forget that.

    George

    • Your words remind me to keep pushing forward. To try harder. To become who I’ve always known myself to be, even when others questioned it.

      Thanks for being a part of my journey, George.

      Thank you so much,

      Fina

  4. The one thing I love about your posts is we get to see and envision your journey. The continuity helps us feel like a part of your lives.

    These type of posts are different. You gave us a more intimate glimpse inside your words and it was wonderful.

    Her journey, to learn from her mistakes. To be open to the future without being blind to the challenges ahead. To not only accept her past but embrace it.

    Thank you so much for these beautiful words. You are not only a great talent but an inspiring writer. This is one of my favorites.

    • You are one of my favorites, Roger. Thank you so much for riding along with me. You’re a great friend. I’m looking forward to sharing the rest of this AMAZING year with you!

      xoxo,

      Fina

Leave a Reply

